There’s no place like it.

St. Ambrose’s consortium of six unique programs can at times leave us all wondering, “What in the name of Baltimore, does St. Ambrose actually do?”  In our 47 year history our different programs have served 120,000 Maryland residents from different neighborhoods, backgrounds, and walks of life. So what binds St. Ambrose’s programs and all of our friends and supporters together?

Home. Home is a place, a state of mind, a goal, a basic need, a sense of well-being, a memory, a scent, a sanctuary.

As a student and lover of both Portuguese and Spanish, I have come to understand that all the best words and expressions are the ones that don’t translate. Home is one of those sweet, unparalleled, not exactly translatable words. The word home doesn’t just refer to a physical structure. Home associates a structure with comfort, safety, or family. It doesn’t matter if you rent an apartment, own your house, or are living in your parent’s basement. Home is yours; it’s something to call your own.

At. St. Ambrose we know that home is something worth fighting for, defending, and working towards. Home is something that unites us, and we’re committed to working together to make home a reality for all.

What does home mean to you? Let us know in the comments.

Author: Carla Hinson

Housing, Baltimore, and also Brazil.

2 thoughts on “There’s no place like it.”

  1. Hi my name is Bertha home to me is a place where I can feel comfort and peace. A place where I can be myself, not being same of my disabilities. Home is a place where I can rest. Home is where I won’t feel neglected and feel unwanted. The reason for my comment is: I came to Baltimore from Philadelphia and I’ve been trying to find an apartment for myself my myself with no luck! I starting to get depressed and sick behind all of this. If St.Ambrose would please help me God know I would appreciate it very much. I’m desperately in need of housing immediately. Thank you in advance. Miss bertha Fairfax ( 2403296199)

  2. Hi Bertha, I will pass along your information to our Rental services department and they will be in touch with you. In the meantime, feel free to contact us at 410-366-8550 x451. Thank you for your comment, home is something everyone should have!

Leave a Reply

